[ENGLISH] For full functionality of this website, it is necessary to enable JavaScript. Please enable javascript and reload the page.
[FRANÇAIS] Pour avoir acces a toutes les fonctionnalités de ce siteweb, il est nécessaire d'activer JavaScript. Veuillez activer javascript et actualiser la page.
IUCEA-World Bank Master Scholarship for Females
Thursday, May 30, 2024

IUCEA-World Bank Master Scholarship for Females

Pour lire le contenu en Français, veuillez cliquer sur le drapeau → 
  • Français
 LEVEL : Masters, Research
 FUNDING : Fully Funded
 OPEN TO : Female
 PLACE : Varies
STATUS : Closed

Applications are open for the IUCEA-World Bank Master Scholarship for Females. The program has been created by the World Bank in partnership with some Governments in Africa to implement the additional financing of the Eastern and Southern Africa Higher Education Centers of Excellence Project (ACE II). The ACE II project has made significant contributions to building the region’s capacity in a range of priority economic sectors. However, given the large need for highly skilled labor, there continue to be significant shortages in workers with high-level skills, especially in the agriculture sector which needs to be met urgently.

The Inter-University Council for East Africa (IUCEA) leads the implementation of component 2 which aims at building strong and sustainable regional partnerships and collaborations to produce competent Masters and PhD holders for the regional market and improve the quality of teaching in higher education and quality of products and services in public and private sectors.

To encourage the participation of young African female students at the postgraduate level, IUCEA wishes to implement a two-year Fellowship Program to provide competitive Masters Scholarships to academically deserving future talents to promote regional female student mobility. Eligible female applicants who can demonstrate interest to undertake postgraduate training in agriculture and related sciences are encouraged to apply for the 60 Fellowships available for the 2023/2024 academic year.

Program Details

  • Host institutions: ACE II Centers Of Excellence in Ethiopia, Kenya, Malawi, Mozambique, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia. Please click here to download the full list.
  • Fields of Study: Agriculture and related sciences.
  • Number of Awards: 60.
  • Duration : 24 months.
  • Target group: Open to citizens of the following countries: Burundi, Ethiopia, Kenya, Malawi, Mozambique, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia.

IUCEA-World Bank Master Scholarship Benefits

Selected candidates for this fellowship program will have the following benefits for a maximum duration of 24 months:

  • University tuition fees: Maximum of USD 5,000 per year (payable directly to the Host University according to an official invoice)
  • Stipend: USD 500 per month to support living expenses such as housing, food, utilities, local transportation, medication, and settlement expenses
  • Research: USD 5,000 to support student research, payable upon approval of research proposal
  • Allowance: USD 2,000 one-off allowance to cover visa, laptop and books
  • Air ticket: A round-trip economy fare for the most direct route between the beneficiary’s home country and the study destination of the Host University

IUCEA-World Bank Master Scholarship Eligibility

In order to be eligible for this femal fellowship program, the applicant must:

  • be a female national of one of ACE II participating countries (Please check the full list above)
  • be under the age of thirty-five (35) years
  • be a holder of a Bachelor’s Degree in agriculture and related fields from a reputable university, at the level of Upper Second Class Honours
  • have been admitted in any of the ACEs specialized in agriculture and related fields. The admission must have been obtained from an ACE outside one’s own country of current nationality.
  • have demonstrated outstanding academic achievement as evidenced by academic transcripts, and academic awards, if any.

Similar opportunities

  1. Australia Awards Scholarships for Development;
  2. University of Waikato Doctoral Scholarship for All;
  3. Friedrich Naumann Foundation Scholarships for Master and PhD.

How to Apply for the IUCEA-World Bank Master Scholarship

Eligible applicants who would like to apply for this Africa program must fill in the application form and send it alongside with required documents by e-mail to [email protected] with a copy to [email protected].

Required Documents

  1. Completed application form (Please click here to download the form);
  2. Recent passport-size photograph;
  3. Summarized CV with names and contacts of two referees;
  4. Certified copies of academic certificates and transcripts;
  5. opy of passport or national identity card;
  6. Copy of admission letter from one of the host universities. Please click here to download the full list.

The application deadline is (5.00 PM East African Time). For more details on the IUCEA-World Bank Master Scholarship for Females, please visit the official page. To be the first to see latest opportunities, please follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest and Instagram.

Official page  

Please share this opportunity with friends and relatives on :

One Comment

  1. Bonjour est-ce que les étudiantes de nationalité sénégalaise qui remplissent les conditions peuvent postuler ?

Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please read the content and available comments before asking a question. There will be no response to questions where the answers are available on the page and/or in the comments.


Never Miss An Opportunity Again !

Please enter your email to receive notifications of latest opportunities.