Tuesday, January 26, 2021

Australia Awards Scholarships for Development 2020-2021 (deadline extended)

Pour lire le contenu en Français, veuillez cliquer sur le drapeau → 
  • Français
LEVEL: Undergraduate, Masters, PhD
OPEN TO: Specific countries
PLACE: Australia
STATUS: Closed

Offered by the Australian Government, the Australia Awards Scholarships for development aims to help promote prosperity, reduce poverty, and enhance socioeconomic stability in partner developing countries. Successful applicants are trained to develop necessary skills and knowledge to drive change and build enduring people-to-people links with Australia.

Australia Awards scholarships focus on supporting eligible countries to strengthen government systems, enhance policy-making in priority sectors, improve economic governance, and build trade and business capabilities.

Applicants are assessed on their professional and personal qualities, academic competence and, most importantly, their potential to impact development challenges in their country. Eligible women, persons with disability and ethnic minorities are strongly encouraged to apply.

Programme Details

  • Host Institutions: Partner Australian universities.
  • Number of awards: Not specified.
  • Duration: Duration of candidate’s programme.
  • Target group: Open to citizens of the following countries:
    Asia (Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, India, Indonesia, Laos, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Timor-Leste, Vietnam);
    Pacific (Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Papua New Guinea, Republic of Palau, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Wallis and Futuna);
    Africa (Botswana, Ghana, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Nigeria, South Africa, Tanzania, Zambia); Middle East (Palestinian Territories).

Australia Awards Scholarships for Development Benefits

Australia Awards Scholarships are offered for the minimum period necessary for the individual to complete the academic program specified by the Australian higher education institution, including any preparatory training. The following benefits generally apply:

  1. full tuition fees
  2. return air travel: payment of a single return, economy class airfare to and from Australia, via the most direct route
  3. establishment allowance: a once only payment as a contribution towards accommodation expenses, text books, study materials
  4. Contribution to Living Expenses (CLE): a fortnightly contribution to basic living expenses paid at a rate determined by the department.
  5. Introductory Academic Program (IAP): a compulsory program prior to the commencement of formal academic studies covering information on living and studying in Australia
  6. Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC) for the duration of the award (for award holder only): provided to cover the scholar’s basic medical costs (except for pre-existing conditions)
  7. Pre-course English (PCE) fees: if deemed necessary PCE may be available for students for in-country and/or in-Australia training
  8. supplementary academic support may be available to ensure a scholar’s academic success or enhance their academic experience
  9. fieldwork may be available for eligible research students for one return economy class airfare via the most direct route to their country of citizenship or within Australia.

Australia Awards Scholarships for Development Eligibility

In order to apply for the Australia Awards Scholarships, applicants must be:

  • a minimum of 18 years of age on 1 February of the year of commencing the scholarship;
  • a citizen of a participating country (as listed on the Australia Awards website) and be residing in and applying for the scholarship from their country of citizenship;
  • not be a citizen of Australia, hold permanent residency in Australia or be applying for a visa to live in Australia permanently;
  • not be married to, engaged to, or a de facto of a person who holds, or is eligible to hold, Australian or New Zealand citizenship or permanent residency, at any time during the application, selection or mobilization phases (note: residents of Cook Islands, Niue and Tokelau with New Zealand citizenship are eligible but must apply for a Student visa;
  • not be current serving military personnel;
  • not have previously received a long-term Australia Award unless they have resided outside of Australia for twice the length of the total time that they were in Australia (for example, a previous awardee who has been on an Australia Awards Scholarship in Australia for four years will not be eligible to apply for another Australia Awards Scholarship until they have resided outside Australia for eight years);
  • have satisfied any specific criteria established by the Program Area or the government of the applicant’s country of citizenship (e.g. having worked a certain number of years in an appropriate sector);
  • able to satisfy the admission requirements of the institution at which the award is to be undertaken (this may mean that Program Areas will need to withdraw an award offer if the recipient cannot satisfy the institution’s admission requirements. This may not be known until Program Areas request a placement at selected institutions);
  • able to satisfy all requirements of the Department of Home Affairs to hold a Student Visa. This may mean that the Program Area will need to withdraw an award offer if the recipient cannot satisfy the visa requirements;
  • Not be applying for a scholarship for a course of study at an academic level lesser than they have already achieved (eg be applying for a Master’s scholarship when they already hold a PhD); and
  • Applicants must inform the Program Area of any connection or relationship to staff employed at Program Areas (including locally engaged staff at post) or with managing contractors so that the application may be properly and transparently managed.

You may also be eligible for the:

  1. University Of Adelaide Australian Government Scholarship;
  2. TWAS-CSIR Postgraduate Fellowship Programme;
  3. Qatar University Scholarships for National and Foreign Students;
  4. Japan and World Bank Scholarship for Developing Countries;
  5. NMG-NJUST Joint Scholarship for International Students.

How to Apply For The Australia Awards Scholarships for Development

Eligible applicant who would like to be considered for Australia Awards Scholarships need to click on the apply button below and follow instructions to apply.

Eligible people with disabilities, are encouraged to apply and disclose the nature of their impairment. Having a disability will not disadvantage individuals in the selection process. Applications will be equitably considered, and reasonable accommodation made, to ensure equal participation and access.

Please note that application for African countries is currently closed. For more detail please check the Australia Awards Scholarships for Africans and the Australia Awards Short Course for Africans.

The application deadline has been extended to . For more detail on the Australia Awards Scholarships for Development, please visit the official page. To be the first to see latest opportunities, please follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest.

Please share this opportunity with friends and relatives on :

Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please read the content and available comments before asking a question. The answer to your question might be on the page.


Never Miss An Opportunity Again !

Please enter your email to receive notifications of latest opportunities.