Tuesday, August 04, 2020

International LafargeHolcim Awards competition 2020 (6th edition)

Opportunity for Entrepreneurs
Pour lire le contenu en Français, veuillez cliquer sur le drapeau → 
  • Français
TYPE: Prize
STATUS: Closed

The 6th International LafargeHolcim Awards competition seeks building solutions and visions that go beyond convention to address the challenges of sustainability. The LafargeHolcim Awards promote innovation in sustainable construction through a series of regional and global competitions. Prizes at both levels total USD 2 million for each three-year competition cycle.

Programme Details

  • Event: The 6th International LafargeHolcim Awards competition.
  • Number of Prizes: 19.
  • Date: Awards, Acknowledgements and Next Generation prizes will be presented at LafargeHolcim Awards between September and November 2020.
  • Target group: Open to all

International LafargeHolcim Awards competition Benefits

LafargeHolcim Awards main category. The total prize money for each of the five regional (Europe, North America, Latin America, Middle East Africa, and Asia Pacific) LafargeHolcim Awards competitions is USD 330,000 (USD 260,000 in the main category):

  • LafargeHolcim Awards Gold USD 100,000
  • LafargeHolcim Awards Silver USD 50,000
  • LafargeHolcim Awards Bronze USD 30,000
  • 4 x LafargeHolcim Awards Acknowledgement prizes of USD 20,000 each LafargeHolcim

Awards Next Generation category. The total prize money for each of the five regional LafargeHolcim Awards competitions is USD 330,000 (USD 70,000 in the Next Generation category):

  • LafargeHolcim Awards Next Generation 1st prize USD 25,000
  • LafargeHolcim Awards Next Generation 2nd prize USD 20,000
  • LafargeHolcim Awards Next Generation 3rd prize USD 15,000
  • LafargeHolcim Awards Next Generation 4th prize USD 10,000

Global LafargeHolcim Awards. The 15 recipients of regional LafargeHolcim Awards Gold, Silver and Bronze are automatically nominated for the Global LafargeHolcim Awards in 2021. The prize money of the Global LafargeHolcim Awards competition is USD 350,000:

  • Global LafargeHolcim Awards Gold USD 150,000
  • Global LafargeHolcim Awards Silver USD 100,000
  • Global LafargeHolcim Awards Bronze USD 50,000
  • Global LafargeHolcim Jury Wild Card Awards from a budget of USD 50,000

International LafargeHolcim Awards competition Eligibility

The International LafargeHolcim Awards competition has two categories: LafargeHolcim Awards main category and the Next Generation young professionals and students category. Each category is grouped in clusters.
Group 1: Architecture, building and civil engineering,
Group 2: Landscape, urban design and infrastructure,
Group 3: Materials, products and construction technologies.

  • In both categories, the project must not have commenced execution prior to January 1, 2019.
  • There is no limit to the number of projects that any individual or team may enter in the competition.
  • The same project may not be entered in both categories of the competition.
  • The LafargeHolcim Awards main category is for exemplary sustainable construction projects at an advanced stage of design from architecture, engineering, urban planning, materials and construction technology, and related fields. There is no age restriction for project authors.
  • The Next Generation young professionals and students category is for visionary design concepts and bold ideas. Authors must be born after June 4, 1989. Students and professionals under 30 years of age are welcome to submit entries in the LafargeHolcim
  • Awards main category for projects that are at an advanced stage of planning and highly likely to be realized.
  • Entries must be submitted in English only, the principal and legally binding language of the LafargeHolcim Awards competition.

Evaluation criteria

The LafargeHolcim Foundation has identified a set of five “target issues” for sustainable construction, which serve as a basis for the evaluation of submissions in the International LafargeHolcim Awards competition. The “target issues” are:

  1. Innovation and transferability – PROGRESS
  2. Ethical standards and social inclusion – PEOPLE
  3. Resource and environmental performance – PLANET
  4. Economic viability and compatibility – PROSPERITY
  5. Contextual and aesthetic impact – PLACE

Application instructions

Please submit your application by using the apply button and following instructions. For more detail on the International LafargeHolcim Awards competition, please visit the official page. To be the first to see latest opportunities, please follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest.

Please share this opportunity with friends and relatives on :

Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please read the content and available comments before asking a question. The answer to your question might be on the page.


Never Miss An Opportunity Again !

Please enter your email to receive notifications of latest opportunities.