Monday, March 08, 2021

Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships for 2021-2022

LEVEL: Masters, Research
FUNDING: Fully Funded
OPEN TO: Specific countries
STATUS: Closed

Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships are for candidates from low and middle income Commonwealth countries, to undertake full-time taught Master’s study at a UK university. Fully funded by the UK Department for International Development (DFID), the Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships enable talented and motivated individuals to gain the knowledge and skills required for sustainable development, and are aimed at those who could not otherwise afford to study in the UK.

Candidates may note that in 2021 that some national agencies will not be invited to nominate for Master’s Scholarships. In the context of broader constraints on the UK’s development assistance budget, the CSC must regrettably select fewer Master’s candidates in 2021. New Master’s recruitment will be drawn from countries not invited to nominate for PhD study, while countries not invited to nominate this year will be represented by Master’s Scholars selected in 2021 but who, due to the challenges caused by the Covid-19 pandemic this year, have been supported by the CSC in deferring their scholarship to commence in 2021.

Program Details

  • Host Institution: Universities in the United Kingdom.
  • Fields of Study: Scholarships are offered under six development themes (Science and technology for development; Strengthening health systems and capacity; Promoting global prosperity; Strengthening global peace, security and governance; Strengthening resilience and response to crises; Access, inclusion and opportunity).
  • Number of awards: Not specified.
  • Duration: The Commonwealth Scholarships Commission (CSC) funds one-year taught Master’s programs only and does not fund MBAs.
  • Target group: Open to citizens or persons with refugee status of Antigua and Barbuda, Belize, Botswana, Dominica, Eswatini, Fiji, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Mauritius, Montserrat, Namibia, Nauru, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Samoa, South Africa, Sri Lanka, St Helena, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu.

Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships Benefits

This scholarship to study in Europe provides successful applicants with:

  • Approved airfare from your home country to the UK and return at the end of your award (the CSC will not reimburse the cost of fares for dependents, nor the cost of journeys made before your award is confirmed)
  • Approved tuition fees
  • Stipend (living allowance) at the rate of £1,116 per month, or £1,369 per month for those at  universities in the London metropolitan area (rates quoted at 2020-2021 levels)
  • Warm clothing allowance, where applicable
  • Thesis grant towards the cost of preparing a thesis or dissertation, where applicable
  • Study travel grant towards the cost of study – related travel within the UK or overseas
  • If you are widowed, divorced, or a single parent, child allowance of £480 per month for the first child, and £118 per month for the second and third child under the age of 16, if you are accompanied by your children, and they are living with you at the same address in the UK (rates quoted at 2020 – 2021 levels)

Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships Eligibility

To qualify for a scholarship, applicants must meet one of the following requirements:

  1. Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person
  2. Be permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth country
  3. Be available to start your academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September/October 2021
  4. By September 2021, hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) honors standard, or a second class degree (2:2) and a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Master’s degree). The CSC would not normally fund a second UK Master’s degree. If you are applying for a second UK Master’s degree, you will need to provide justification as to why you wish to undertake this study
  5. Be unable to afford to study in the UK without this scholarship
  6. Have provided all supporting documentation in the required format

Selection Criteria

Candidates for the Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships will be selected using the following criteria:

  • Academic merit of the candidate
  • Quality of the plan of study
  • Potential impact on the development of the candidate’s home country

Application instructions

To apply for the Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships, you must apply to one of the following nominating bodies in the first instance. The CSC does not accept direct applications for these scholarships:

All applications must be made through one of these nominating bodies. Each nominating body is responsible for its own selection process and may have additional eligibility criteria. You must check with your nominating body for their specific advice and rules for applying, their own eligibility criteria, and their own closing date for applications.

You must make your application using the CSC’s online application system (Click on the Apply button below), in addition to any other application that you are required to complete by your nominating body. The CSC will not accept any applications that are not submitted via the online application system. All applications must be submitted by 16:00 (GMT) on January 18, 2021 at the latest.

You are advised to complete and submit your application as soon as possible, as the online application system will be very busy in the days leading up to the application deadline. You should apply to study at a UK university which has a part funding agreement with the CSC. Your application must include the following supporting documentation in order for your application to be eligible for consideration:

  • Proof of citizenship or refugee status – uploaded to the online application system
  • Full transcripts detailing all your higher education qualifications including to-date transcripts for any qualifications you are currently studying (with certified translations if not in English) – uploaded to the online application system
  • References from at least two individuals – submitted directly by the referees to the online application system (referees will be sent an email request)

Note: It is your responsibility to ensure that your referees are able to complete the references by the deadline and that they receive the reference requests. The CSC will not accept supporting documentation submitted by nominating agencies or outside the online application system.

The deadline to submit applications is . To know more about the Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships, please visit the official page. To be the first to see latest opportunities, please follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest.

Please share this opportunity with friends and relatives on :

Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please read the content and available comments before asking a question. The answer to your question might be on the page.


Never Miss An Opportunity Again !

Please enter your email to receive notifications of latest opportunities.